............. Aerial view looking onto the Firth of Forth east of Edinburgh.
Sunday, November 21, 2010
Friday, November 12, 2010
James FORSYTH and Helen SCOTT
James Forsyth and his wife Helen appear in the 1841 census records for Haddington, a town now in East Lothian, but at that time a prosperous town which gave its name to the shire. They were living on the same street as their married daughter, Marion who was Mrs. John Cochrane. In this census, both James and Helen gave their birthplace as 'within the census county' while John and Marion Cochrane gave their birthplace as outside of the census county. This is in conflict with oral family history which provides Penicuik, about ten miles south of Edinburgh (now Mid-lothian) as James Forsyth's birthplace.
In the 1851 census, when Helen was widowed, she gave her place of birth as Selkirk, Selkirkshire which is not far from Penicuik, reportedly the birthplace of her husband, James. In looking at the marriage extracts, we find two which could be our James and Helen:
James Forsyth and Helen Scott
Married 25 Jan 1801,
Yarrow, Selkirk
James Forsyth and Jean Scott
Married 20 Feb 1801,
Penicuik, Midlothian
The following information about the proclamation of banns of marriage was extracted from 'Scotlands People' website:
'The proclamation of banns was the notice of contract of marriage, read out in the Kirk before the marriage took place. Couples or their 'cautioners' (sponsors) were often required to pay a 'caution' or security to prove the seriousness of their intentions. Forthcoming marriages were supposed to be proclaimed on three successive Sundays, however, in practice, all three proclamations could be made on the same day on payment of a fee. If the bride and groom lived in different parishes, the impending marriage was proclaimed in both parishes, although not necessarily on the same days, therefore the dates in each register may be different. You may also find that one register may show the proclamation date and the other the date of the marriage itself.'
One wonders if the above records from Yarrow, Selkirk and Pencuik, Midlothian are indeed for the same couple, the second record recording the bride's given name incorrectly. I will refer to these parish registers in the next few months. (Marriage in Yarrow has been checked and Helen Scott was of the parish of Yarrow and James Forsyth was 'in Pennycuik.' I'm not sure what this means. Could it mean he was from Yarrow, but living/working in Penicuik or does it mean he was from Penicuik? Will look into this.)
Death records for James and Helen's children suggest that Christian and Marion were the eldest children, but their baptisms in Penicuik (or any other place) do not appear on the IGI as parish extracts. Someone has submitted some information; however, the only extracts from parish records for Penicuik are for the three sons John, Robert and James. These records will be checked in the next few months. (Records now checked. See later posts for results.)
From the birth places of the children of James and Helen found in the census records, we can trace the movements of the family. It seems that they lived in and around Penicuik as a married couple from early in 1801. Their fifth child and third son James was probably born is Lasswade, closer to Edinburgh, but he was returned to Penicuik for baptism.) Their next known move was to Haddingtonshire (East Lothian). In 1814, their daughter, Helen, was born in Dirleton, now East Lothian and about 10 miles east of Edinburgh and very close to North Berwick. Their youngest daughter, Janet, was born in Dirleton in 1822.
By 1841, James and Helen were living in Haddington. In the 1841 census, James gave his occupation as 'shepherd,' and it should be noted that his son-in-law, John Cochrane, was a dyer, of wool no doubt. James was deceased by 1851 and apparently died in Calder which is south of Edinburgh and not far from Penicuik. (The significance of this place should be investigated.) Helen lived another ten years in Haddington, probably in the same home, but definitely on the same street. They are reportedly buried in the church yard of St. Mary's although no burial record has been found to date. There is a monument for their daughter, Marion Cochrane in St. Mary's churchyard. The records for burial are actually records for the purchase of mort cloths, and therefore not as complete as later burial records.
Sunday, November 7, 2010
A Scottish Canadian Folksong
Saturday, November 6, 2010
Penicuik, Midlothian
Penicuik is located on the River Esk, in the Scottish county of Midlothian, approximately 395 miles north of London and 10 miles south of Edinburgh.The town has a population of around 25,000. Administratively it is within the unitary council region of Midlothian which covers an area of approximately 354 sq kms and which has a population of around 81,000.
It is an attractive town set amongst the Pentland Hills. At it's heart is the High Street, a busy wide tree-lined thoroughfare which is dominated by the Town Hall, Penicuik's most impressive architectural landmark. The pedestrianised John Street is the main shopping focus. There are some notable historic sites in the area, including several Iron Age forts on the Pentland Hills, the most interesting of which is Castlelaw which was occupied from Roman times, and the old Parish Church of St Mungo. Penicuik is home to the renowned Edinburgh Crystal works, and it is a good base from which to explore the surrounding area and its numerous visitor attractions.
The town's modern history dates from around 1770, when Sir John Clark planned and began building on the town's present site, and to the east of the original hamlet which had existed here. This development included High Street and John Street. The town grew as a result of its paper making industry which only finally ceased during the 1970s.
The nearby Pentland Hills saw the Battle of Rullion Green in 1666 when the Covenanters were defeated by the army of Charles II. At the end of the Napoleonic Wars, around 1815, the paper mill was converted for use as a prison camp for captured French soldiers. The French Prisoners' Monument, built in 1830, commemorates this.
Historically the town's economy was based upon paper-making, but with this industry's decline the town has undergone a process of regeneration. Industries remaining include the Edinburgh Crystal works and Dalmore Paper mill, some eight miles outside the town. Midlothian Council is the area's largest employer, with many residents also commuting to work in Edinburgh.
The name Penicuik derives from the Cymric 'pen-y-cog' which means 'hill of the cuckcoo'.
Friday, November 5, 2010
Map of South-Eastern Scotland
Thursday, October 28, 2010
Dirleton, East Lothian
1796, 19th March - Charlotte COCKBURN, daughter of Charles COCKBURN, Taylor in West Fenton and Alison MORTON was born 11th March, baptized the 19th of the same month - Witnesses: James Cockburn, G. Smith, Wm Graham, SC (clerk?)
Above - Parish Register Entry' John FORSYTH and Charlotte COCKBURN both of this parish gave their names for proclamation 18 October 1828 and were duly proclaimed and married 25 October 1828'
1830, January 1 - James, son of John FORSYTH, Labourer in Fenton and his wife Charlotte COCKBURN was born this day and baptized publickly p. 114
1831, April 13 - Alison, daughter of John Forsyth, Labourer in Fenton and his wife Charlotte Cockburn was born this day and baptized publickly - p. 123
1833, April 14 - Charles, son of John Forsyth, Labourer in W. Fenton and his wife Charlotte Cockburn was born this day and baptized publickly p. 137
1835, May 17 - John, son of John Forsyth, hind and Charlotte Cockburn born this day and baptized publickly (no page number)
(ABOVE - Research of LDS records by SLB )
*1837, December 16th - Robert born in West Fenton
*Robert's birth / baptism record was either lost or he was never baptised, as on August 13, 1854 when he was 17, a note was made in the Parish records that Hugh Goodlet (the husband of Robert's maternal aunt) appeared before the Kirk Session of Dirleton and made an affidavit that Robert was born in Dirleton.
Church of Scotland, Dirleton(Click on the title to see the website from which the photo and information below were taken)
Wednesday, October 20, 2010
Haddington, East Lothian
Photo of St. Mary's Haddington, East Lothian where James Forsyth and Helen Scott are apparently buriedhttp://www.visiteastlothian.org/home.asp
Wednesday, July 28, 2010
McNee Monuments
280 Muskoka Road 10
Port Sydney, Stephenson Township
Muskoka District
James McNee, husband of Alison ForsythTuesday, May 25, 2010
Sunday, January 10, 2010
Charlotte R. C. McNee Hamilton 1873-1947
The record of the border crossing provides the following information. Charlotte was 55 years old, was 5 feet 5 inches tall with grey hair and blue eyes. She was born in Falkenburg, Ontario about 1873 (January 15, 1873). Her last permanent address was Moosejaw, Saskatchewan. The form included this wording, "Seen $6,000.00," probably to prove that she was able to support herself. Another question asked who had purchased her ticket; she had paid for it herself.
Charlotte was travelling to Modesto, California to join Bertha Klaus at 1739 Almond Street, and had been living in the US from 1923 to 1928, the current year and was a permanent US resident. (Modesto is in the interior of California east of San Franscisco. It is in the county of Stanislaus.)
We know that Charlotte lived with her parents and then with her brother and widowed father until her marriage at 41 years of age on June 14, 1916 to William Joseph Hamilton of Watt Township, son of Edward Hamilton and Sarah Taylor.
It seems that between 1916 and 1923, Charlotte studied to be a nurse and also lived in Moosejaw, presumably with her husband.
Charlotte gave her next-of-kin as John McNee, Utterson. Her brother, John was five years older than she was, and Utterson was probably the address of the McNee land which was north of Falkenburg. John was married to Jessie Mina Grant, a school teacher in about 1912. John and Charlotte's father died in 1917.
Charlotte's full name was Charlotte Robina Cockburn (McNee) Hamilton. She appears in the 1930 census for Modesto City, California. She was 57 years old and widowed at that time, and her work was 'Special nurse - general duty.' Charlotte died January 10th, 1947 in Stanislaus, California.
It is not known if Bertha Klaus was a friend or an employer; however, the cemetery plot in which Charlotte was buried was owned by Bertha Klaus. (See July / 2010 post)
Sunday, November 1, 2009
John Forsyth, Toronto 1853
1853, p. 9, 210, John Forsyth (no age) Teamster
Owner of dwelling-John Ritchey
St. Andrew's Ward, Boulton St, Both Sides, City
To see the record, click on the title above.
Original: City of Toronto Archives, City of Toronto Tax Assessment Rolls, Reference: Fonds 200, Series 612, St. Andrew's Ward, 1853, Pg: 9, Sequence Number: 210
Index: Web Site: OntarioRoots.com (http://www.OntarioRoots.com), Transcription of City of Toronto Tax Assessment Rolls, St. Andrew's Ward, 1853, Pg: 9, Sequence Number: 210, Viewed on 11/1/2009 7:24:13 PM









